Following his attainment of assurance of salvation, Ebenezer Erskine (1680–1754) wrote in his diary:

                                                                                                                                                                                            

Lord, if I have done iniquity, I am resolved through thy grace to do so no more. I flee for shelter to the blood of Jesus and his everlasting righteousness; for this is pleasing unto thee. I offer myself up, soul and body, unto God the Father, Son and Holy Ghost. I offer myself unto Christ the Lord, as an object proper for all his offices to be exercised upon. I choose him as my prophet for instruction, illumination, and direction, I embrace him as my great priest, to be washed and justified by his blood an righteousness. I embrace him as my king to reign and rule within me. I take a whole Christ with all his laws, and all him; I will quit with all I have in the world for his cause and truth.

Meet the Puritans (Reformation Heritage Books, 2006), 493.